Full-Text Search:
Home|Journal Papers|About CNKI|User Service|FAQ|Contact Us|中文
Add to Favorite Get Latest Update

Cambrian Chronostratigraphy Research: Present and Tendency

PENG Shan chi 1) , ZHOU Zhi yi 1) , LIN Tian rui 2) , and YUAN Jin liang 1) ( 1)Nanjing Institute of Geology and Palaeontology, the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Nanjing, 210008; 2)Department of Earth Sciences, Nanjing University, N  
The current study on Cambrian chronostratigraphy in the world, especially in North America, and the tendency of searching for the formally accepted stages and series, as well as the efforts of the International Subcommission on Cambrian Stratigraphy and its Cambrian Subdivision Working Group for Cambrian subdivision are reviewed. The history of proposing the existfing Chinese stages shows that the concepts of those stages, as originally understood, are actually of lithostratigraphy than chronostratigraphy. Because the existing Chinese stages are directly introduced from the same named lithstratigraphical units, such as formations, all the stages are, therefore, defined by the unit rather than boundary stratotypes. Because of the use of endomic taxa in generic levels, the boundaries of the existing Chinese stages have never been precisely defined. Such boundaries have little international or intercontinental correlation potential. To replace the existing Middle Upper Cambrian stages that erected from the shallow water platform sequences in North China, 5 new statotype based stages are proposed based on the slope facies sequences in western Hunan and eastern Guizhou areas of the Jiangnan Slope Belt. At present, we consider to subdivide the Chinese Cambrian into 3 series and 9 stages. As the four existing Lower Cambrian stages, the Meishucunian, the Chiungchussuan, the Tsanglanpuan, and the Longwangmiaoan have been restudied recently, they are now tentatively retained for the Lower Cambrian Series. The Middle Cambrian Series includes two stages: the Taijiangian and the Wangcunian. They are proposed respectively in this issue, and recently by Peng et al. (1998). The Upper Cambrian Series comprises four stages: the Youshuian, the Waergangian and the Taoyuanian, all of which are also proposed by Peng et al .(1998).
【Fund】: 国家自然科学基金!No.490 70 0 77;; 中国科学院古生物学与 古人类学基础研究特别支持费! 970 2 ;; 中国科学院现代地层古生学 开放实
【CateGory Index】: P534.41
Download(CAJ format) Download(PDF format)
CAJViewer7.0 supports all the CNKI file formats; AdobeReader only supports the PDF format.
©2006 Tsinghua Tongfang Knowledge Network Technology Co., Ltd.(Beijing)(TTKN) All rights reserved